Big Mouth House

Holly Black, The Poison Eaters and Other StoriesNext: The Poison Eaters and Other Stories
Holly Black

Coming February 9, 2010: In her debut collection, New York Times best-selling author Holly Black returns to the world of Tithe in two darkly exquisite new tales. Then Black takes readers on a tour of a faerie market and introduces a girl poisonous to the touch and another who challenges the devil to a competitive eating match. These stories have been published in anthologies such as 21 Proms, The Faery Reel, and The Restless Dead, and have been reprinted in many “Best of” anthologies. The Poison Eaters is Holly Black’s much-anticipated first collection of stories, and her ability to stare into the void—and to find humanity and humor there—will speak to young adult and adult readers alike.

Illustrated by Theo Black.

Praise for Holly Black's books:

"Dark, edgy, beautifully written, and compulsively readable, this is sure to be a word-of-mouth hit with teens."

"An unusually powerful YA contemporary fantasy, and an outstanding first novel."

"Debauchery, despair, deceit, and grisly death--what more could you ask from a fairy tale?"
Kirkus Reviews

"Dark, edgy fantasy."
School Library Journal

Holly Black is the author of Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale (an ALA Best Book for Young Adults) and two related novels, Valiant (Norton Award winner, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, CCBC Choices) and Ironside, as well as a new novel, The White Cat. She and Tony DiTerlizzi created the best-selling Spiderwick Chronicles. She is working on a graphic novel series, The Good Neighbors, with artist Ted Naifeh. She and her husband, Theo, live in Massachusetts.


Debut title

Joan AIken, The Serial Garden The Serial Garden: The Complete Armitage Family Stories
Joan Aiken

The first complete collection of Joan Aiken's beloved Armitage stories — and it includes four new, unpublished stories. Includes Joan Aiken's Prelude, as well as introductions from Joan Aiken's daughter, Lizza Aiken, and best-selling author Garth Nix. Illustrated by Andi Watson.

"Buy it to read to your kids, and you'll find yourself sneaking tastes on the sly; a little Aiken is a fine thing to have in your system at any age."

"Joan Aiken's invention seemed inexhaustible, her high spirits a blessing, her sheer storytelling zest a phenomenon. She was a literary treasure, and her books will continue to delight for many years to come."
—Philip Pullman


What We're About

An imprint devoted to fiction for readers of all ages. We will publish one or two weird and great titles (short story collections and novels) per year. We expect to publish books for readers aged 10 and up.
What's Coming Up Future titles include: more Joan Aiken, Holly Black’s collection The Poison Eaters and Other Stories (February 2010) and Delia Sherman’s novel The Freedom Maze.
The 5 W's

Who, What, When, Why, hoW, FAQ, etc.

Answers to some questions.